Easy, healthy breakfast ideas

Breakfast is 100% without a doubt my favorite meal of the day, but it’s super important to fuel your body with the right things so you can start your day off strong! So, I’ve compiled a couple of my ideas that I’ve been eating recently that don’t take long at all that way you have no excuse to skip the most important meal of the day. Also, these are great options to use all of the ripe fruits and vegetables that are finally here. Enjoy!

1. Greek omelet (in a mug!)– These eggs are yummy, healthy, and amazingly quick. I opted to go with a Greek kind of theme, but all of the veggies are really up to you. The key to this is to customize it and don’t put too much in because you are making it in a mug so space is limited. I usually eyeball mine so once you stir it you can still see some egg, but the recipe below is the closest I can get to my normal recipe since it changes daily.

Ingredients-greek eggs

  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp. milk
  • 3-4 cherry tomatoes (any kind will do)
  • 1/4 cup spinach (make sure to remove stems and tear it up)
  • 2 tbsp. turkey sausage or other protein
  • 1-2 tbsp. feta cheese
  • salt & pepper to taste

All you have to do for this is crack your eggs directly into the mug, toss the ingredients in there, cover it with a paper plate, and microwave it for 1 minute 30 seconds. Breakfast in under 5 minutes!

2. Fruit platter– If I wake up and I’m not really hungry or know I’m going to have an awesome lunch, I always make a fruit platter. It’s colorful, delicious, AND you can freeze the leftovers for a smoothie. Pair the fruit platter with some almond butter, peanut butter, or some Siggi’s yogurt (my absolute favorite) to fit in some protein.

Ingredients- fruiiit

  • Anything you want! I used mangos, strawberries, grapes, pineapple, and almond butter.

3. Apple “cereal”– While there definitely are some tasty, healthy cereals, this tastes so good and has half the carbs and added sugars- it’s also another thing you can make in the microwave.

Ingredients-

  • 1 small apple (chopped into bite size pieces & skinned if preferred)
  • 1 medium banana, chopped apple
  • tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup granola (I use a super food mix with chia seeds and cranberries)

Once you chop up the banana and apple, place the pieces in your cereal bowl and toss with the cinnamon. Microwave for 1-2 minutes, depending on how soft you want them, pour your milk of choice in, and sprinkle the granola on top. I love this recipe because it’s quick, easy, and tastes like an apple cobbler.

4. Banana  berry pancakes– If you’re on Pinterest, you’ve probably heard of this recipe a hundred times, but I’m going to include it because it’s so so yummy. If you’re like me and go bananas for pancakes (sorry, I had to) but desperately need a healthier go-to, then these are for you.

Ingredients-

  • 2 small/medium bananas (make sure they’re ripe so you can squish them up easier)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla pancakes
  • 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp. coco powder or protein powder (optional, I usually don’t add this in)
  • berries of choice

In a small bowl, mash up the bananas completely and add in the eggs. Stir until combined and add the baking powder, vanilla, and cinnamon. Grease your skillet with butter or coconut oil and put on medium heat. Once it’s heated, add about 1/4 cup of batter onto the pan and add a small handful of berries on top. Most similar recipes I’ve seen say to cook it for 2 minutes on each side, but that tastes a little underdone to me, so I would say about 3-5 minutes based on your preference. Because these are banana based, they will turn much more brown then regular pancakes, but that’s perfectly OK! Once they’re done, top them with chia seeds, nuts, and your syrup or agave of choice! I paired mine with a molten blueberry sauce and strawberries.

I hope you enjoyed this article, be sure to subscribe by email in the box at the very bottom of this page and follow @liveyoulivewell on Instagram to keep up with new articles like this one. If you haven’t, be sure to read my healthy snack ideas post.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

