Thought Bubble: feminism

Happy (late) International Women’s Day! I hope that if you’re a woman you had a wonderful day not only on March 8th, but today and every other day this week! If you’re a man, I hope the exact same thing.

I’m writing this because I’ve noticed that the word “feminism” has a very troubling taste to a lot of people. Not just to people trolling on the internet or whatever, but in the halls of schools and in the walls of homes. I told a guy a few weeks ago that I was a feminist and he gave me a funny look before proclaiming that feminism was “too radical” and meant “women saw themselves as superior to men.” I don’t know if it is a lack of education on women’s rights or if it was youthful ignorance or if it was the stigma often times created by the media, but I was alarmed that this could even appear to someone as a rational thought or fact.

Feminism is simply the belief in equal rights. Women are not here to “take” a man’s world, we are here to share it. Feminists are women who know their worth and refuse to be treated as less than an equal on a world that so heavily has been shaped and defined by emancipation-155792_1280us. Feminism is incredibly important to education, health, innovation, and progress and until someone understands that it is a movement for women, they will always think there is a battle between the sexes going on, when it’s really just a battle for respect.

For me on a personal level, feminism means growing alongside the women in my life and cheering on those who are doing excellent things. I’m not going to pretend I’ve never said anything about another girl or that I’ve never competed against one. I won’t do that because it’s not true, but I am more mindful than ever about this. I think as people we tend to think “Oh, I can’t do that I can’t make a difference,” but activists start with simple actions. That’s something I’ve been thinking about a lot lately and just because International Women’s Day has passed, it doesn’t mean the support has to stop. So, I’m making a vow to try and support the cause in my own way. First, I’m doing whatever I want (something I’ve admittedly been good at). It’s my body, my mind, my life, and my choice- leading by example.Second, instead of complimenting girls on their makeup or asking them about their boyfriend- I’m going to compliment their minds and I’m going to ask them about their day.

I encourage you to take this mindful vow with me and remember that even a small action like the ones I listed can make an impact in both the cause and in your life as you spread the love and block the negativity.

For more posts like this one, subscribe/follow at the veeeery bottom of the page.

2 thoughts on “Thought Bubble: feminism

  1. Caitlin says:

    I completely agree with everything here and support this 100%. Your thoughts are golden and you’ve articulated them flawlessly.

    Like

Leave a Reply

