Fitbit review

By now, I’m sure everyone has heard of the latest fitness gadget, the Fitbit. There are several different styles that you can choose from, but each of them track the basics: steps, calories burned, and distance. Each model does a little more than the last, and with options ranging from $59.95 to $249.95, it can be tricky to figure out which and IF having one is even worth it.

I got my Fitbit Alta (categorized as an “everyday” model) as a Christmas gift and have been pleasantly surprised. At first I was a little skeptical about actually using it, but now I am a full fledged Fitbit addict. The Alta’s look is based on “Fitness and Fashion on display” according to their website, with several color options and interchangeable bands you can buy- even metal and leather ones. One thing I liked about it right away and continue to adore is the fact that it isn’t bulky at all and can be paired with other bracelets without looking out of place. I don’t think I’ll buy all of the different bands and change them out (call me lazy), but I do think that it’s a nice feature. The Alta’s look is sleek and discreet enough that you could easily wear it to work or school.img_5467

Beyond the looks, the Alta has a digital clock face that you can tap to see your other stats, like steps. It also tracks sleep and is shower resistant, although I haven’t worn it in the shower because that scares me to death. Another cool asset is that it provides call, text, and calendar alerts.

I was also pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to set up and how interactive the app is. You can set goals, connect with friends, and keep track of your calories. Charging isn’t frequent either- it can last me three to four days sometimes, which is good if you’re on the go a lot.

The only “negative” thing I could possibly say about the Fitbit Alta is that if you’re looking for a more in depth tracker, one that tracks your heart rate or multi-sport modes (this feature not only tracks running or walking like the Alta, but it can track activities like yoga or weights), you may need to go into the “active” category and purchase the Charge 2. The thing about going up from the Alta is that you’re going to be getting a bigger screen and band. Personally, I like the thinner style, but it all comes down to your needs.

There are also Fitbits that do less than the Alta, the most basic is a clip on, or the “Zip,” which only tracks steps, distance, and calories burned. It only comes in two colors, but is a great option if you’re going for a more minimalist look or are just trying to be more mindful of getting up and moving around.

Overall, I personally love my Fitbit and think it’s been a great tool for my fitness journey. If you still aren’t sure, I recommend buying maybe a really inexpensive pedometer or basic fitness tracker to see if you would be able to commit and enjoy a more thorough model. If you have a Fitbit, let me know what you think in the comments and subscribe all the way at the bottom by email!

One thought on “Fitbit review

Leave a Reply

